Just Because…

Lyrics are poetry and poetry is April and “I’m gonna start doing my own stunts, just because” and because Breathe Owl Breathe are one of my favorites and I’m super excited to hear that they are coming back to Pickathon in August and I’ll get to see them for the 2nd time in as many years!  And this video for “Own Stunts” off the forthcoming, Magic Central, is pure poetry.  I mean a skiing, shadowboxing, own-stunt-doing-jesus-look-a-like, complete with icicle beard, does it get much better than this?  I am very into the wordplay that Micah uses here as well, reminiscent of some of Andrew Bird’s finer songs.  Dig…I really like the fight scene with the dark rider with dog head!  Thanks Sean for the heads-up.

“I’m walkin’ down the path/ look down there’s a welcome mat/ underneath’s a trap door/ what’s on the other side?/ the spirit world/”

2 thoughts on “Just Because…

  1. Heck yeah! Awesome video – and even more awesome new songs from their Daytrotter session –

    http://www.daytrotter.com/dt/breathe-owl-breathe-concert/20031239-37381957.html

    It amazes me how sparse their music is, but how it is filled to the brim with magic and animal noises and wonder. I can’t wait to see them again in July on their way to see you at the Pickathon, Sir Jonas. Its like story time for adults.

    That should be a great show with Seth/May there among so many others.

Reach out and touch someone....

